wondering aloud lyrics meaning

They say that people who are involved in artistic pursuits—well, not that they necessarily live longer but that they live with a longer span of productive brain activity. I just wanted to write about the Doggerlands because nobody else had (laughs). Where did this sudden burst of productivity come from? At the time we, and especially our drummer, Barriemore Barlow, found it difficult to play that sort of straightaway music. We’re less likely to fall prey to outside factors and general senility because we keep our brains going. As a producer, I should’ve been more forward about keeping it more direct and simple. General Crossing. Not everything will be great, but it’s usually at least passable, so to write okay standards of music remains easy for me, but to write good music is still, as always, quite hard.